September 1982

Revised: September 1992, September 2007, September 2013, November 2022

College of Arts and Sciences College Committee on Planning (CCOP)

- I. The College of Arts and Sciences establishes a College Committee on Planning in accordance with the financial exigency plan for Kansas State University, approved by President Duane Acker on March 6, 1981, Part IV provides for the following committees to be established: The Faculty Senate Committee on University Planning (FSCOUP), the College Committee on Planning (CCOP), and the Department (or "other Unit") Committee on Planning (DCOP). Members of each of these committees shall include tenure-track faculty, tenured faculty, nontenure track faculty, university support staff, and unclassified staff who are assigned to a college, department, or other unit. The character and composition of:
 - FSCOUP shall follow the guidelines set forth in the University Handbook, Section B95.
 - DCOP shall be the purview of the Department (or "other Unit")
 - CCOP shall consist of the guidelines outlined below.
- II. Composition of the College of Arts and Sciences Committee
 - A. The Committee will consist of twelve voting members elected to represent four groups (no more than two members from any department) as outlined in Appendix A:
 - 1. Quantitative and Natural Sciences Faculty
 - 2. Social and Behavioral Sciences Faculty
 - 3. Humanities and Fine Arts Faculty
 - 4. Staff All Areas in Arts and Sciences
 - B. Each group will have three representatives who will serve three-year terms except for:
 - 1. the initial representatives who will serve three-year, two-year, or one-year terms respectively as determined by the procedure outlined in Section II, and
 - 2. for persons filling unexpired terms which are vacated for any reason; those persons will fulfill the remainder of the unexpired term.
 - C. The designation of groups is for purposes only of determination of membership. Policy decisions considered by the committee will not be based on these groupings; voting and deliberation within the committee will not be organized by group.
 - D. Given the purpose of CCOP to provide input to college administrators, deans and department heads are not eligible to serve.
 - 1. If a current elected CCOP member becomes a dean or department head during their term, their position and membership on the committee shall be vacated. The vacant position shall be filled by the next highest voted candidate from the appropriate group in the most recent election.
 - E. The college's FSCOUP representative will be an ex-officio, non-voting member of CCOP.
- III. Supervision of and Process of Election
 - A. The Arts and Sciences Dean's office will supervise and administer the CCOP elections each year.
 - B. The CCOP will make changes, if needed, in the composition of the four groups. Criteria for determining the group membership will be:
 - 1. The compatibility of the individual's responsibilities with the group's designations
 - 2. The desirability of keeping the groups similar in size.
 - C. Committee members will be elected by secret ballot. The eligible voters in each group

- shall include tenure-track faculty, tenured faculty, non-tenure track faculty, university support staff, and unclassified staff on regular or term contract of at least 0.5 FTE who are assigned to a college, department, or other unit. The Dean of the College is not an eligible voter.
- D. Election procedures will begin with a primary ballot. The primary ballot will determine candidates for a run-off election which in turn will determine the members of the committee. Each group will have its own primary ballot, which will contain the names of all persons eligible for election to the committee from that group. Voters will be instructed to vote for a number equal to at most twice the number of vacancies to be filled. In case of ties, which would increase the number to greater than twice the number of vacancies, a coin toss will determine the nominees from among those tied.
- E. Each group will have its own run-off election in which each voter will be permitted to vote for a number equal to at most the number of vacancies. Any tie will be decided by coin toss.
- F. If there are positions for terms of less than three years (as in the initial selection), the person receiving the highest number of votes will earn the longest term, the person receiving the second highest the next longest position, etc. In case a person is unable to complete a term for any reason, their position will be filled with the person receiving the next highest number of votes in the previous run-off elections, or if necessary, in the previous primary ballot. Subsequent vacancies will be filled in order of decreasing number of votes. A committee member on leave whose term extends beyond the period of the leave need not give up his position, but will be replaced for the period of leave in accordance with the rules previously stated.
- G. There will be no limit on the number of terms, successive or interrupted, that any person may serve on the committee.
- H. In each election each faculty member will have voting representation in proportion to their budgeted assignment in the College.

IV. Organization

The committee shall annually elect its own officers.

V. Time Schedule

Initial primary ballots will be distributed to faculty members within twenty school days of the passage of this document by the college faculty. Voters will have ten school days in which to return ballots and the final ballot will be mailed within five school days of that deadline. Voters will be required to return final ballots within five school days for ballots to be counted. Committee members will take office immediately upon certification of the election. In subsequent years, the primary ballot shall be distributed no later than the first school day in October.

VI. Scope of Committee Concern

The Committee shall advise the Dean on all matters affecting or potentially affecting financial exigency, such as hiring policies, allocation of new positions, student retention, and so forth. The Dean shall consult with CCOP on issues including, but not limited to: college planning, college reorganization, strategic planning, program discontinuance, and financial exigency.

VII. Meeting Schedule

Meetings can be called by the Dean of the College or by the Chair of CCOP. The committee shall meet with the Dean at least once each semester.

APPENDIX

Quantitative & Natural Sciences Faculty

Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics; Biology; Chemistry; Geography and Geospatial Sciences; Geology; Mathematics; Physics; Statistics

Social & Behavioral Sciences Faculty

A. Q. Miller School of Media and Communication; Economics; Political Science; Psychological Sciences; Social Transformation Studies; Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work

Humanities & Fine Arts Faculty

Art; English; History; Modern Languages; Music, Theatre, and Dance; Philosophy

Arts and Sciences Staff

All areas in the College of Arts and Sciences