History of the Diversity Committee

Dean Steve White formed the College of Arts & Sciences Diversity Committee to foster diversity within the college in 2004, and it is currently sponsored by Dean Amit Chakrabarti. Dr. Ethan Bernick, Political Science, is the current chair of the Diversity Committee. The Diversity Committee is composed of staff, students, and faculty members from different areas within the college.The committee has had the following leaders:

  • Dr. Ethan Bernick, Political Science (2021-present)
  • Dr. April Petillo, American Ethnic Studies (2020-2021)
  • Dr. Shireen Roshanravan, American Ethnic Studies (2020-2021)
  • Dr. Brett DePaola, professor and head of physics (2017-2020)
  • Colonel Shawn Martin (2015-2017)
  • Dr. Tanya González, professor of English (2014-2015)
  • Dr. Kent Kerby, associate professor of biology (2011-2014)
  • Assistant Dean Juanita McGowan (2009-2011)
  • Dr. Lorena Passarelli, professor of biology (2007-2009)
  • Dr. Marcelo Sabates, associate professor of philosophy (2004-2007).